Comparing Amazon’s new “Kindle Fire” tablet to Apple’s iPad.

Jeff Bezos to world about his company’s new offerings, including a new 7″ color tablet dubbed the Kindle Fire:

Dear Customer,

There are two types of companies: those that work hard to charge customers more, and those that work hard to charge customers less. Both approaches can work. We are firmly in the second camp. . .

Apple to Amazon: Ouch!

I love my iPad and won’t be replacing it with a Kindle Fire in this lifetime. I will however be buying one of the new Kindle ebook readers, which sport “electronic ink” displays that do not glow from behind. I see the glowless quality of the e-ink display as the major plus for the Kindle E-readers for many of the reasons John Gruber recently articulated:

I like reading on e-ink. . . . I read books on my iPad, too, but reading on the iPad doesn’t have the same mental-mode-switching effect. When I read with the iPad I feel like I’m doing the same basic thing I do as I read on my Mac all day long — just with a different device. . . .

E-ink feels peaceful to me. The Kindle doesn’t feel like a computer. It feels — not to the touch but to the eyes and mind — like a crudely-typeset and slightly smudgily-printed paper book. That’s a good thing. Battery life is un-computer-like as well: Amazon measures e-ink Kindle battery life in months, and they’re not joking. It’s a surprise when the Kindle actually needs a charge. I was a doubter until I owned one, but now I’m convinced that e-ink readers have tremendous value even in the post-iPad world.

About Guy N. Texas

Guy N. Texas is the pen name of a lawyer living in Dallas, who is now a liberal. He was once conservative, but this word has so morphed in meaning that he can no longer call himself that in good conscience. Guy has no political aspirations. He speaks only for himself.
This entry was posted in Business, Computers, News, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comparing Amazon’s new “Kindle Fire” tablet to Apple’s iPad.

  1. vance wittie says:

    I am a classic late-adopter. The one exception was the Kindle, which I jumped on early. I am glad I did. Having the complete works of say, the 20 greatest authors in the English language for a total investment of less than $100 at your fingertips at any time is little short of miraculous. Adjustable font size is great for aging eyes. The e-ink is not straining in any way and the absence of back-lighting means mucho long battery life. Later, I bought an I-Pad. It’s fine for its own stuff but when I want to read, especially on the road, its definitely the Kindle.

Leave a Reply

