Summing up and moving on: The future direction of “Notes and Rests”

[NOTE: IF YOU ARE NEW HERE, READ IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER — that is, start at the oldest post on the last page and move up. Thanks.]

I never really know what a writing project is about until I’m several days into it. Some of my early posts seem half-baked to me. But I’m going to leave all posts up, at least for a while.

I can also see that I have not been honoring some of the conventions of blogging. For example, I’ve edited posts after they’ve been “published,” in a way that could prove confusing to those (if any) who wish to link. Your patience is appreciated. I will improve.

Finally, here’s a preview of some topics I may touch on in the future, as time allows:

  1. The terrific long game the hard right has been playing for years. It’s only now apparent to me, with the benefit of hindsight.
  2. Who’s to blame for the dangerous turns in the debt-ceiling negotiations? In a great post, Jim Fallows pins it mainly on the House Republicans. I believe the President deserves a lot of blame too. I hope to explain why, what he should change, and how liberals can help him do that and increase his leverage in future show-downs.
  3. Does the dangerous brinkmanship the House tea-partiers have been practicing reflect, in a sense, desperation that they feel due to trends that are to their long-term disadvantage — such things as (i) increasing ethnic diversity of the electorate, (ii) aging of the baby-boomers and the expectation that, as they increasingly rely on Medicare and Social Security, those programs will become untouchable, (iii) the tendency of young voters to favor Democrats on numerous issues.
  4. What are the key differences between how Democrats and Republicans see the world? I hope to explain why I became a Democrat.
  5. Are Democrats as good as Republicans at using language to maximize the appeal of our position? Republicans have been beating the crap out of us on this for years. We need to be smarter.
  6. I may pretend over the course of a  fantasy paragraph or two that I am a Presidential speechwriter.
  7. If my courage holds up and if my black friends will help, I may write about the implications, if any, of the President’s race in all of this. People of goodwill in the south understand that in any relationship you care about advancing over time, not talking about race when it may be a factor (real or perceived) is the wrong approach to take. But I promise nothing. That topic may be bigger than me.
  8. Finally, I plan to say more about music — classical music, in particular, which is what moved me to start this blog in the first place.

Thanks to all.

About Guy N. Texas

Guy N. Texas is the pen name of a lawyer living in Dallas, who is now a liberal. He was once conservative, but this word has so morphed in meaning that he can no longer call himself that in good conscience. Guy has no political aspirations. He speaks only for himself.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

